Help copying files from Windows XP base machine to Windows 7 Virtual PC

Home Forums Virtualization Virtual Server & Virtual PC Help copying files from Windows XP base machine to Windows 7 Virtual PC

This topic contains 9 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Avatar pclinc 9 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    bearebel

Hello all,
    I am a newbie here; and perhaps like you all, a desperate problem has brought me here.
    I am running Windows 7 on virtual PC and to perform certain tasks, I am simply trying to drag and drop some files from my base Windows XP machine to the Windows 7 Virtual PC.
    However, it doesn’t seem to work.
    I have tried:
    – drag and drop
    – copy and paste
    – Installing virtual machine additions
    – rebooting the computer

None seem to help. Any ideas from those who have done this before or seem to know the technical reason behind it?
    Thanks in advance!

Ossian

Re: Help copying files from Windows XP base machine to Windows 7 Virtual PC

Have you installed / enabled the virtual machine additions?

Edit — sorry, I see you have installed them — have you checked in the properties of the VM they are enabled?
    Have you rebooted your VPC since?

Have you tried reinstalling the additions?

pclinc

Ossian;214614 wrote:
    Have you installed / enabled the virtual machine additions?

have you checked in the properties of the VM they are enabled?
    Have you rebooted your VPC since?

Have you tried reinstalling the additions?

I did install my virtual machine after installing the virtual machine addition, however, it is now coming up with a blue screen of death!
    If I don’t install the virtual machine addition, it runs fine. But ofcourse, there is no point if I cannot copy files into the virtual machine.

I am trying to reinstall the windows 7 on virtual PC now. Will keep you posted.
    Let me know please if you know anything about this blue screen issue.

Ossian