I changed the structure of my OU’s that contained global distribution lists. What I found was if anyone had created their own local DL’s in Outlook and added any of the global DL’s, the global DL no longer worked and had to be removed and readded. Is this normal behavior or did I miss something? Since I didn’t rename the global DL I thought Outlook would still be able to reference it at the new location?
When you do something local with a group, it tends to freeze it in time. The reference becomes Outlook’s own, rather than the domain’s. Therefore the behaviour you have seen is what I would expect, simply because the link between the domain and Outlook has broken.
Groups don’t work in quite the same way as regular user accounts, therefore moving them around will often break things.