Disabled or deleted account computers and users ?

Home Forums Microsoft Networking and Management Services Active Directory Disabled or deleted account computers and users ?

This topic contains 4 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  tdbchess 4 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Posts

  • tdbchess
    Member
    #167630

    Hi all,

    What is the best practice :

    Actually, when a user leaves the company we disabled computer and user accounts, and move them to a specific OU like “Disabled Accounts”.
    We never delete them.

    Thanks for help


    wullieb1
    Moderator
    #245797

    Whatever suits your business really.

    What we do is

    Disable the account
    Reset the password
    Remove from all groups except Domain Users
    Hide from the GAL
    Move to Disabled Users OU
    Delete after 30 days


    Ossian
    Moderator
    #192058

    Why would you disable the computer account – is it BYOD? If not, surely someone else is likely to take on that PC.


    tdbchess
    Member
    #354036

    Thanks for help guys.


    joeqwerty
    Moderator
    #304636
    tdbchess;n517639 wrote:
    Hi all,

    What is the best practice :

    Actually, when a user leaves the company we disabled computer and user accounts, and move them to a specific OU like “Disabled Accounts”.
    We never delete them.

    Thanks for help

    Best practice is whatever your company decides is the appropriate action.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.