Create a Telnet connection with the NTLM authentication

Home Forums Client Operating Systems Windows 2000 Pro, XP Pro Create a Telnet connection with the NTLM authentication

This topic contains 15 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Avatar handrian 6 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • Avatar
    balubeto
    Member
    #161265

    Hi

    I have a computer with XP Pro SP3 and I should create a Telnet connection with the telnet server integrated in Windows 7 SP1 64 bit which only allows the NTLM authentication.

    So, how do I have to configure the telnet client of XP to automatically connect to the telnet server using different credentials.

    Thanks

    Bye

    Avatar
    Anonymous
    #371492

    Re: Create a Telnet connection with the NTLM authentication

    Using our friend :google:, I found this MS article which may help you:

    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc770895%28v=ws.10%29.aspx. It describes the use of AD group membership to allow access.

    Avatar
    handrian
    Member
    #382745

    Re: Create a Telnet connection with the NTLM authentication

    RicklesP;271507 wrote:
    Using our friend :google:, I found this MS article which may help you:

    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc770895%28v=ws.10%29.aspx. It describes the use of AD group membership to allow access.

    Hi

    I have created a text file Login_telnet_Pippo.txt:

    Code:
    set WshShell = WScript.CreateObject(“WScript.Shell”)
    WshShell.run”telnet.exe Pippo”
    WScript.Sleep 1500
    WshShell.SendKeys”telnet Pippo”
    WshShell.SendKeys(“{Enter}”)
    WScript.Sleep 1500
    ‘write the user name to the cmd window
    WshShell.SendKeys””
    WshShell.SendKeys(“{Enter}”)
    WScript.Sleep 1500
    ‘write the password to the cmd window
    WshShell.SendKeys””
    WshShell.SendKeys(“{Enter}”)
    WScript.Sleep 1500
    WshShell.SendKeys”cd /opt/TelePATH/”
    WshShell.SendKeys(“{Enter}”)
    WshShell.SendKeys”ls”

    and then I wrote this command from the command prompt of XP:

    Code:
    telnet -f “C:Documents and SettingsAll UsersDocumentiLogin_telnet_Pippo.txt” Pippo 23

    where Pippo is my server which has Windows 7 SP1 64-bit.

    Unfortunately, this error message is displayed:

    Code:
    Microsoft Telnet Client
    The escape character is ‘Ctrl ++’
    You are sending information to a remote computer in the Internet Zone. This may not be secure. Send it anyway? (y/n) y

    Telnet server could not log you in using NTLM authentication.
    Your password may have expired.
    Login using username and password

    Telnet Server is configured to use NTLM authentication only.
    Contact your administrator to enable username/password authentication.
    Telnet Server has closed the connection
    Connection to host lost.

    How come? Where I was wrong?

    Thanks

    Bye

    Avatar
    wullieb1
    Moderator
    #244255

    Re: Create a Telnet connection with the NTLM authentication

    Did you add the relevant user to the TelnetClients group??

    ***EDIT***

    Is there a need to use NTLM for logon purposes??

    Did you configure this server??

    I’ve installed 2 machines, one as Windows XP and the other as Windows 7 x64 with SP1 installed.

    Installed a vanilla Telnet server and connected successfully with no NTLM enabled.

    To turn off NTLM use the following command tlntadmn config sec=-NTLM

    For more help please look here

    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc787407.aspx

    Avatar
    handrian
    Member
    #382746

    Re: Create a Telnet connection with the NTLM authentication

    wullieb1;271748 wrote:
    Did you add the relevant user to the TelnetClients group??

    ***EDIT***

    Is there a need to use NTLM for logon purposes??

    Did you configure this server??

    I’ve installed 2 machines, one as Windows XP and the other as Windows 7 x64 with SP1 installed.

    Installed a vanilla Telnet server and connected successfully with no NTLM enabled.

    To turn off NTLM use the following command tlntadmn config sec=-NTLM

    For more help please look here

    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc787407.aspx

    Of course, I have added to the TelnetClients group all users who need to connect to my Win 7 computer. For security reasons, I have to use only the NTLM authentication.

    So, why my Telnet server does not respond to the Telnet client even with the Login request?

    Thanks

    Bye

    Avatar
    wullieb1
    Moderator
    #244267

    Re: Create a Telnet connection with the NTLM authentication

    balubeto;271977 wrote:
    Of course, I have added to the TelnetClients group all users who need to connect to my Win 7 computer. For security reasons, I have to use only the NTLM authentication.

    So, why my Telnet server does not respond to the Telnet client even with the Login request?

    Thanks

    Bye

    Have you tried logging in manually rather than using a script??

    It appears to me looking at the script that you are opening 3 telnet sessions.

    Avatar
    handrian
    Member
    #382747

    Re: Create a Telnet connection with the NTLM authentication

    wullieb1;271981 wrote:
    Have you tried logging in manually rather than using a script??

    It appears to me looking at the script that you are opening 3 telnet sessions.

    If I write:

    Code:
    telnet Pippo /p Port_number

    this message:

    Code:
    Microsoft Telnet Client
    The escape character is ‘Ctrl ++’
    You are sending information to a remote computer in the Internet Zone. This may not be secure. Send it anyway? (y/n) y
    Telnet server could not log you in using NTLM authentication.
    Your password may have expired.
    Login using username and password

    Telnet Server is configured to use NTLM authentication only.
    Contact your administrator to enable username/password authentication.
    Telnet Server has closed the connection
    Connection to host lost.

    is displayed.

    My Telnet server configuration is:

    Code:
    C:Windowssystem32>tlntadmn

    Alt key associated with ‘CTRL+A’ : YES
    Idle Session Timeout : 30 minutes 0 seconds
    Max. connections : 5
    Telnet port : 23
    Maximum number of failed login attempts : 3
    End Task to disconnect : YES
    Operation mode : Console
    Authentication Mechanism : NTLM
    Domain Defaults : Pippo
    Status : Running

    C:Windowssystem32>

    So, how come I have these access problems?

    Thanks

    Bye

    Avatar
    wullieb1
    Moderator
    #244268

    Re: Create a Telnet connection with the NTLM authentication

    Code:
    telnet Pippo /p Port_number

    Why are you doing this??

    Your connecting to Telnet on the default port, 23 which you don’t need.

    What is the /p yuou are using?? According to my client its not a switch

    C:UsersWilliam>telnet /?

    telnet [-a][-e escape char][-f log file][-l user][-t term][host [port]]
    -a Attempt automatic logon. Same as -l option except uses
    the currently logged on user’s name.
    -e Escape character to enter telnet client prompt.
    -f File name for client side logging
    -l Specifies the user name to log in with on the remote system.
    Requires that the remote system support the TELNET ENVIRON option.
    -t Specifies terminal type.
    Supported term types are vt100, vt52, ansi and vtnt only.
    host Specifies the hostname or IP address of the remote computer
    to connect to.
    port Specifies a port number or service name.

    C:UsersWilliam>[/CODE]

    So in my opinion your commands should be

    [CODE]telnet Pippo -a[/CODE] (Automatic logon using current logon credentials)

    or

    [CODE]telnet Pippo – l [U]username[/U][/CODE][CODE]C:UsersWilliam>telnet /?

    telnet [-a][-e escape char][-f log file][-l user][-t term][host [port]]
    -a Attempt automatic logon. Same as -l option except uses
    the currently logged on user’s name.
    -e Escape character to enter telnet client prompt.
    -f File name for client side logging
    -l Specifies the user name to log in with on the remote system.
    Requires that the remote system support the TELNET ENVIRON option.
    -t Specifies terminal type.
    Supported term types are vt100, vt52, ansi and vtnt only.
    host Specifies the hostname or IP address of the remote computer
    to connect to.
    port Specifies a port number or service name.

    C:UsersWilliam>[/CODE]

    So in my opinion your commands should be

    telnet Pippo -a[/CODE] (Automatic logon using current logon credentials)

    or

    [CODE]telnet Pippo – l [U]username[/U][/CODE][CODE]telnet Pippo -a[/CODE] (Automatic logon using current logon credentials)

    or

    telnet Pippo – l [U]username[/U][/CODE][CODE]telnet Pippo – l username[/CODE]

    Avatar
    handrian
    Member
    #382748

    Re: Create a Telnet connection with the NTLM authentication

    wullieb1;272023 wrote:
    Code:
    telnet Pippo /p Port_number

    Why are you doing this??

    Your connecting to Telnet on the default port, 23 which you don’t need.

    What is the /p yuou are using?? According to my client its not a switch

    C:UsersWilliam>telnet /?

    telnet [-a][-e escape char][-f log file][-l user][-t term][host [port]]
    -a Attempt automatic logon. Same as -l option except uses
    the currently logged on user’s name.
    -e Escape character to enter telnet client prompt.
    -f File name for client side logging
    -l Specifies the user name to log in with on the remote system.
    Requires that the remote system support the TELNET ENVIRON option.
    -t Specifies terminal type.
    Supported term types are vt100, vt52, ansi and vtnt only.
    host Specifies the hostname or IP address of the remote computer
    to connect to.
    port Specifies a port number or service name.

    C:UsersWilliam>[/CODE]

    So in my opinion your commands should be

    [CODE]telnet Pippo -a[/CODE] (Automatic logon using current logon credentials)

    or

    [CODE]telnet Pippo – l [U]username[/U][/CODE][/QUOTE]

    Since the two accounts have different credentials, I wrote:

    [CODE]telnet Pippo – l [/CODE]

    but the error, which is displayed, is always the same. How come? From the command line, it is also possible to put my password? If so, how do I do this?

    Thanks

    Bye[CODE]C:UsersWilliam>telnet /?

    telnet [-a][-e escape char][-f log file][-l user][-t term][host [port]]
    -a Attempt automatic logon. Same as -l option except uses
    the currently logged on user’s name.
    -e Escape character to enter telnet client prompt.
    -f File name for client side logging
    -l Specifies the user name to log in with on the remote system.
    Requires that the remote system support the TELNET ENVIRON option.
    -t Specifies terminal type.
    Supported term types are vt100, vt52, ansi and vtnt only.
    host Specifies the hostname or IP address of the remote computer
    to connect to.
    port Specifies a port number or service name.

    C:UsersWilliam>[/CODE]

    So in my opinion your commands should be

    telnet Pippo -a[/CODE] (Automatic logon using current logon credentials)

    or

    [CODE]telnet Pippo – l [U]username[/U][/CODE][/QUOTE]

    Since the two accounts have different credentials, I wrote:

    [CODE]telnet Pippo – l [/CODE]

    but the error, which is displayed, is always the same. How come? From the command line, it is also possible to put my password? If so, how do I do this?

    Thanks

    Bye[CODE]telnet Pippo -a[/CODE] (Automatic logon using current logon credentials)

    or

    telnet Pippo – l [U]username[/U][/CODE][/QUOTE]

    Since the two accounts have different credentials, I wrote:

    [CODE]telnet Pippo – l [/CODE]

    but the error, which is displayed, is always the same. How come? From the command line, it is also possible to put my password? If so, how do I do this?

    Thanks

    Bye[CODE]telnet Pippo – l username[/CODE]

    Since the two accounts have different credentials, I wrote:

    telnet Pippo – l [/CODE]

    but the error, which is displayed, is always the same. How come? From the command line, it is also possible to put my password? If so, how do I do this?

    Thanks

    Bye[CODE]telnet Pippo – l [/CODE]

    but the error, which is displayed, is always the same. How come? From the command line, it is also possible to put my password? If so, how do I do this?

    Thanks

    Bye

    Avatar
    wullieb1
    Moderator
    #244271

    Re: Create a Telnet connection with the NTLM authentication

    balubeto;272087 wrote:
    Since the two accounts have different credentials, I wrote:

    telnet Pippo – l [/CODE]

    but the error, which is displayed, is always the same. How come? From the command line, it is also possible to put my password? If so, how do I do this?

    Thanks

    Bye[/QUOTE]

    You really don’t do much research do you!!!!!

    Try enabling NTLM on the XP client machine

    [url]http://www.microsoft.com/resources/documentation/windows/xp/all/proddocs/en-us/telnet_commands.mspx?mfr=true[/url]

    [url]http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc732082(v=ws.10).aspx[/url]

    to do that I would do this

    telnet then press enter
    unset ntlm then press enter
    open pippo then press enter

    That should then prompt for your username and password which you can enter.[CODE]telnet Pippo – l [/CODE]

    but the error, which is displayed, is always the same. How come? From the command line, it is also possible to put my password? If so, how do I do this?

    Thanks

    Bye

    You really don’t do much research do you!!!!!

    Try enabling NTLM on the XP client machine

    http://www.microsoft.com/resources/documentation/windows/xp/all/proddocs/en-us/telnet_commands.mspx?mfr=true

    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc732082(v=ws.10).aspx

    to do that I would do this

    telnet then press enter
    unset ntlm then press enter
    open pippo then press enter

    That should then prompt for your username and password which you can enter.

    Avatar
    handrian
    Member
    #382749

    Re: Create a Telnet connection with the NTLM authentication

    wullieb1;272105 wrote:
    You really don’t do much research do you!!!!!

    Try enabling NTLM on the XP client machine

    http://www.microsoft.com/resources/documentation/windows/xp/all/proddocs/en-us/telnet_commands.mspx?mfr=true

    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc732082(v=ws.10).aspx

    to do that I would do this

    telnet then press enter
    unset ntlm then press enter
    open pippo then press enter

    That should then prompt for your username and password which you can enter.

    I tried to write it:

    Code:
    Microsoft Telnet Client
    Il carattere di Escape è ‘CTRL++’
    Microsoft Telnet> unset ntlm
    Won’t auth (ntlm authentication)
    Microsoft Telnet> open Pippo
    Connessione a Pippo…
    Microsoft Telnet>

    but it does not work because the usual error appears. How come?

    Thanks

    Bye

    Avatar
    wullieb1
    Moderator
    #244272

    Re: Create a Telnet connection with the NTLM authentication

    balubeto;272157 wrote:
    I tried to write it:

    Code:
    Microsoft Telnet Client
    Il carattere di Escape è ‘CTRL++’
    Microsoft Telnet> unset ntlm
    Won’t auth (ntlm authentication)
    Microsoft Telnet> open Pippo
    Connessione a Pippo…
    Microsoft Telnet>

    but it does not work because the usual error appears. How come?

    Thanks

    Bye

    I have installed a Windows XP machine as the client and a Windows 7 Machine as the server.

    On checking both systems I found the following settings in place.

    Windows XP

    Quote:
    Microsoft Telnet> d
    Escape Character is ‘CTRL+]’
    Will auth(NTLM Authentication)
    Local echo off
    New line mode – Causes return key to send CR & LF
    Current mode: Console
    Will term type
    Preferred term type is ANSI
    Microsoft Telnet>

    Windows 7

    Quote:
    C:Windowssystem32>tlntadmn

    The following are the settings on localhost

    Alt Key Mapped to ‘CTRL+A’ : YES
    Idle session timeout : 1 hours
    Max connections : 2
    Telnet port : 23
    Max failed login attempts : 3
    End tasks on disconnect : YES
    Mode of Operation : Console
    Authentication Mechanism : NTLM
    Default Domain : TEST
    State : Running

    C:Windowssystem32>

    When I connect from the XP client to the Win 7 machine I get the NO error when using the same username and password.

    When using the following details telnet 192.168.100.100 -l tester I also get logged on successfully.

    Telnet 1 shows the immediate dialogue box after I connect. Here I select y then press enter

    Telnet 2 shows the active connection.

    Telnet 3 shows a dir on the telnet server (Windows 7)

    Avatar
    handrian
    Member
    #382750

    Re: Create a Telnet connection with the NTLM authentication

    wullieb1;272174 wrote:
    I have installed a Windows XP machine as the client and a Windows 7 Machine as the server.

    On checking both systems I found the following settings in place.

    Windows XP

    Windows 7

    When I connect from the XP client to the Win 7 machine I get the NO error when using the same username and password.

    When using the following details telnet 192.168.100.100 -l tester I also get logged on successfully.

    Telnet 1 shows the immediate dialogue box after I connect. Here I select y then press enter

    Telnet 2 shows the active connection.

    Telnet 3 shows a dir on the telnet server (Windows 7)

    The configuration of the Telnet client in an Administrators account of XP is:

    Code:
    The escape character is ‘Ctrl++’
    Microsoft Telnet> d
    The escape character is ‘Ctrl++’
    Will auth (NTLM authentification)
    Local echo off
    &New line mode – The ENTER key sends CR, LF
    Current Modem: Console
    Negotiate the terminal type
    Preferred terminal type: ANSI
    Microsoft Telnet>

    While, its configuration in an Users account of XP is:

    Code:
    The escape character is ‘Ctrl + +’
    Microsoft Telnet> d
    The escape character is ‘Ctrl + +’
    Will not auth (NTLM authentification)
    Local echo off
    & New line mode – The ENTER key sends CR, LF
    Current Modem: Console
    Negotiate the terminal type
    Preferred terminal type: ANSI
    Microsoft Telnet>

    Now, writing in the first account:

    Code:
    telnet Pippo -l

    I connect to Pippo but I find the shell of the administrator account and not that of the username specified. How come?

    So, how do I properly configure this Telnet client for all users of XP?

    Thanks

    Bye

    Avatar
    Ossian
    Moderator
    #188281

    Re: Create a Telnet connection with the NTLM authentication

    Can you tell us what you are trying to do as there may be a better solution than Telnet?

    (Yes, we know you are trying to telnet in using NTLM authentication, but what are you wanting to do once you have telnetted?)

    Avatar
    wullieb1
    Moderator
    #244273

    Re: Create a Telnet connection with the NTLM authentication

    balubeto;272177 wrote:
    The configuration of the Telnet client in an Administrators account of XP is:

    Code:
    The escape character is ‘Ctrl++’
    Microsoft Telnet> d
    The escape character is ‘Ctrl++’
    Will auth (NTLM authentification)
    Local echo off
    &New line mode – The ENTER key sends CR, LF
    Current Modem: Console
    Negotiate the terminal type
    Preferred terminal type: ANSI
    Microsoft Telnet>

    While, its configuration in an Users account of XP is:

    Code:
    The escape character is ‘Ctrl + +’
    Microsoft Telnet> d
    The escape character is ‘Ctrl + +’
    Will not auth (NTLM authentification)
    Local echo off
    & New line mode – The ENTER key sends CR, LF
    Current Modem: Console
    Negotiate the terminal type
    Preferred terminal type: ANSI
    Microsoft Telnet>

    Now, writing in the first account:

    Code:
    telnet Pippo -l

    I connect to Pippo but I find the shell of the administrator account and not that of the username specified. How come?

    So, how do I properly configure this Telnet client for all users of XP?

    Thanks

    Bye

    You can’t. At least I can’t find anything in the documentation that I’ve read.

    ***RANT ON***

    BTW I’m not willing to help anymore as I find that you are wanting us to do your job for you rather than you doing your own job. IMO this is embarrassing for you and if your employed by an organisation embarrassing for them as well. If you were my employee I would sack you.

    Its taken you almost 25 days to get a connection to a Telnet server operational, I had built 2 PC’s and had a working connection in less than 3 hours from start to finish.

    The input you have to your own questions is abysmal. You have never once confirmed what you have tried or what you are doing to get this working. We have no feedback from you with regards to any of the information that we have provided.

    ***RANT OFF***

    Avatar
    handrian
    Member
    #382753

    Re: Create a Telnet connection with the NTLM authentication

    By chance, the Telnet service needs credentials to be able to use NTLM authentication? If so, how do I create these credentials with Windows 7 and XP?

    Thanks

    Bye

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.