Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• security log file export required

Hi Gurus

I am new to this forum, so apologies in advance if I this sounds like a stupid question. I have a requirement which I am trying to solve using.
    What I want to do is collect the security logs from all the servers in the domain, that are listed in a file and save the logs, with unique names on to a folder. Can this be achieved by any existing utility or with a script? If you can please get me a script that will be great. I am not very good with vbs and hence is struggling. My environment contains a mixture of 2003/2008 servers and there are approximately 100 servers so I don't particularly fancy going into each server and then saving the log. That will take a long time. I want to save the logs in the .evt and .evtx format. Is it a possibility at all?

Any help will be greatly appreciated!!!
    Thanks in advance.

Regards

Re: security log file export required

I have deleted your identical thread in the Windows Scripting forum.

Powershell will do the trick -- I had something similar but exported to CSV (If I find the script I will post it). Ran as a scheduled job on each server and then another job copied the logs to a central store.
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

Originally posted by Ossian View Post
      I have deleted your identical thread in the Windows Scripting forum.

Powershell will do the trick -- I had something similar but exported to CSV (If I find the script I will post it). Ran as a scheduled job on each server and then another job copied the logs to a central store.
      Code: