No announcement yet.

GPO - Startup Script - UAC Problems

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GPO - Startup Script - UAC Problems

Hi all,

Apologies if this has been asked a thousand times before but I've done a lot of Googling and can't quite get an answer to this.....

I'm not too good with scripting, though I can usually find and butcher what I need for general administration tasks.

On this occasion I am trying to deploy a peice of client software for an already installed server application. I want to do this automatically using a startup script via a GPO.

The script basically copies the software from the NETLOGON directory to a locally created directory, then launches the setup with a couple of applicaiton specific switches.

What I am finding is that on XP clients all works as expected, however on Windows 7 machines the software has tried to be installed but not completed. I know this as the local clients directory structure has started to be created, ie I see;

c:\program files\client app\folder 1
    c:\program files\client app\folder 2
    c:\program files\client app\folder 3

but not

c:\program files\client app\folder 4
    c:\program files\client app\folder 5

As such I'm guessing the installation is getting as far as it can before UAC kicks in then prevents it completing successfully.

Can anyone enlighten me as to how I can deal with this situation? I know UAC is there for a reason and this would seem to go against its purpose but I can't believe there is not a way to deploy software via a startup script due to UAC.

Thanks in advance!

Re: GPO - Startup Script - UAC Problems

Not an expert with the scripting side but have you taken a look at ACT and creating a shim for the application/script?

Thanks for taking the time to reply.

To be honest I am search for a solution that will accomodate all OS version from the one script, if possible.