Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• run Symantec Cleanwipe with PsExec

Hi All

I'm hoping someone on here will be able to help as I have exhausted google and all other avenues. I am no expert when it comes to scripting but I'm hoping someone can tell me if the following can be scripted.

I need to remove Symantec Antivirus 8 from about 400 pc's. I have managed to find scripts to help determine which machines have been left on (I have asked users but I know some people will still shutdown).

So I have a text file with a list of pc names that I know are turned on and I have also copied across the CleanWipe folder which contains an app folder and a bat file.

Now in the cleanwipe readme it says the following,

To run CleanWipe in silent mode:
    --------------------------------
    1. Copy the CleanWipe folder to the target computer.
    2. Open the CleanWipe folder and double-click the CleanWipe.exe file.
    3. When you are prompted, browse to a location where you want the files to be copied and then click Start to extract the files.
    If you click Start without selecting a location, the files are extracted to the Windows\Temp folder.
    4. If you are asked if you want to run CleanWipe now, click No.
    5. Open a command prompt and change directory to the CleanWipe\app folder.
    6. Type the following command:
    RunCleanWipe -silent
    7. CleanWipe then uses its defaults to run without any user input.

Okay, so I tested this with PsExec and did the following,

psexec backslashbackslashpcname cmd (replace backslashbackslash with \\)

which would take me to

PsExec v1.98 - Execute processes remotely
    Copyright (C) 2001-2010 Mark Russinovich
    Sysinternals - www . sysinternals . com

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
    C:\WINDOWS\system32>

Now I will navitage to the folder where I meant to run RunCleanWipe -silent

C:\CleanWipe\app\ and then I run RunCleanWipe -silent