No announcement yet.

URGENT: Need help on Batch file.

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• URGENT: Need help on Batch file.

For some reason the requirement is BATCH scripting from the client. I am a beginner in Batch scripting but managed to write the piece of code to automate some stuff. I am struck with some 3 simply issues. I am not able to figure out even on googling.
    Hence requesting your help here to fix the same

1. I have saved one XML as a txt file and processing the same. Below are 2 sample piece of code.
    <message field1="10" field2="Title" Field3="My description for this" Field4="0" Filed5="60" Filed6="20” />
    <message field1="11" field2="hello" Field3="damn difficult" Field4="1" Filed5="0" Filed6="0” />

Let us assume only 1st line(highlighted in Bold) is there in my TXT file. I need to collect
    ·Field4=”0” into a variable called Var
    ·Field5=”60” into a variable called Var1
    How can I do that? I am not very sure how to process a line and pick up a string into a variable

2. Say a variable v1=”123456 ”
    I am able to check the 8th bit as blank with the code below %v1:~7,1%
    IF %var:~7,1%==" " echo blank
    But I wanted to check if the 8th bit is equal to . It looks like the Double quote is a special character and hence the screen just finishes the execution. It doesn’t do as intended. I tried something like this
    IF %var:~8,1%==" echo blank ------à Doesn’t work
    IF “%var:~8,1%”==" echo blank -------à Doesn’t work
    IF %var:~8,1%==\" echo blank -------à to remove some special meaning etc

3. How to check if a string is a Numeric or not? I wanted only the numeric to validate something.

Thanks in advance

Re: URGENT: Need help on Batch file.

Try this

@echo off
    for /f "tokens=2 delims=><" %%a in ('type file.xml ^| find

"<Filed5>"') do set F5=%%a
    echo The Filed5 is %F5%

You can develop and use further