java phailing

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• java phailing

I'm very new to java and programming in general, so I'm hoping this will be an easy fix, so here goes...

This is a little app I wrote to compare md5 sums of downloaded packages with the source, its real simple, I expected it to be no problem but I'm starting to realize just how bad at this I am

Anyway I finally got it to compile and now when I run it with 'java md5Check' it doesn't return anything and just returns to BASH prompt.

Thanks for any input

Code:
    import java.util.Scanner;
    /**
    This will take the suck out of confirming md5 sums.
     */
    public class md5Check
    {

public String sum1;
        public String sum2;

public static void main( String args[] )
        {
        }
            public void input()
            {
                System.out.println( "First checksum?" );

Scanner input = new Scanner ( System.in);

String sum1 = input.nextLine();

System.out.println( "Second checksum?" );

String sum2 = input.nextLine();

}

public void verify()
            {
                if (sum1 == sum2)
                    System.out.println( "All clear." );
                else
                    System.out.println( "No good." );

}

}

Re: java phailing

Originally posted by vinsai View Post
    when I run it with 'java md5Check' it doesn't return anything and just returns to BASH prompt.
    I'd advise you to get a book about basics of programming in Java. Bruce Eckel's Thinking in Java is said to be a good one. That being said, your program never calls input() nor verify() methods, so no output is ever generated.

-vP

Comment

As vP stated, your main method is empty therefore your program doesn't do anything.