Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Batch file copy from cd?

Hi

Im new to this, and have searched the forums but seem unable to achieve my goal.
    I've written a very simple batch file using xcopy to copy a folder from the My Documents folder to the root of C, then run an exe from within the copied folder.
    This works fine if the starting location drive letter is defined in the batch file.
    However, I need to perform this action from the CD Rom drive from different machines, and seeing as the drive letters may vary, I cannot specify the starting location drive letter.
    Is there a way around this?

TIA

Why does this need to be done from different machines?
    Is it possible to SHARE a CD ROM drive (or even copy the CD's contents to a HDD and create a SHARE) then you would be able to use a UNC path in the coping script.
    1 1 was a racehorse.
    2 2 was 1 2.
    1 1 1 1 race 1 day,
    2 2 1 1 2

Comment

Batch file copy from cd?

Hi

Thanks for the reply.

The reason for this script is because I'm creating an installation CD with various functions, that will be used by several people to install on different machines, different locations.

The syntax im sure will be very simple, I just need someone that knows batch commands to point me in the right direction.

To recap, I have a CD that I need to copy a folder and all of its contents to C: then run an exe from within that folder.

If anyone could help I would be most appriciative.

TIA

Comment

Use %systemdrive% variable instead of stating C: explicitly.

Type "set" in a command prompt window to get more variables (TEMP, TMP, SYSTEMROOT...)
        Guy Teverovsky
        "Smith & Wesson - the original point and click interface"

Comment

Hi

Thanks again for the reply, but it still doesnt help.

Heres an example of the code im using at the moment:

rem

cd c:\
          md Example

cd c:\Example