Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to map printers in a workgroup using scripts

Hi all..

I am completely new to scripting...Currently I am setting up the servers for an office but we are working in a workgroup environment as a makeshift arrangement.Everyday I have to map the shared printers for users induvisually as they lose mapping after a day or two..

Is it possible to map the printers through scripts for respective users remotely or may be users can run a specific script each day they login?

I repeat this a workgroup and we donot have a domain currently..

If there is a way please let me know...

Thanks in advance

Fazal
    Fazal Zaidi
    MCITP-Windows 2008,Exchange 2010,MCTS-Exchange 2007,2010,Lync 2010,MCSE-2000,2003,MCSA-2003,2008,2012,MCP,MCSE -Messaging 2013,ITIL

Re: How to map printers in a workgroup using scripts

This must not happen "they lose mapping after a day or two". You seem to have a problem. But anyway, Have a look at THIS PAGE

Comment

Code:
      Set WshNetwork = CreateObject("WScript.Network")

WshNetwork.AddWindowsPrinterConnection "\\Server\printersharename"
      WshNetwork.SetDefaultPrinter "\\server\printersharename"
      • Copy the above code, paste into a notepad,
      • Make the relevant changes in the \\Server\Printersharename section,
      • Change server to the computername where the printer is installed and printersharename,
      • Save it as VBS in the following folder: C:\Documents and Settings\all users\Start Menu\Programs\Startup

The above script will add a printer connection and set that printer as the default.
      When you place the script in the startup folder for all users, it'll run when anyone logs on to that machine.
      If you don't want it as the default printer then take the following line off the script.
      Code:
      WshNetwork.SetDefaultPrinter "\\server\printersharename"
      Cheers
      Caesar's cipher - 3