VBS - Trying to redirect output to text file

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• VBS - Trying to redirect output to text file

Ok, so I'm a VB newb and that's probably what's causing this issue, but I can't seem to get this subroutine to run properly.

What I'm wanting the subroutine to do is set the working directory to L:\ (a mapped drive from the previous subroutine), call the c:\scripts\zip.exe app with the hardcoded arguments (and a variable from a defined function), and redirect the output for zip.exe to append on a text file stored on C:\scripts\

Here's the subroutine as I have it now:
    Code:
    Sub Compress_Files()
    	strDirectory = "L:"
    'Create the File System Object
                Set objShell = CreateObject("wscript.shell")
                Set objFSO = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
                Set Ofolder = objFSO.GetFolder(strDirectory)

objshell.CurrentDirectory = strDirectory

objShell.run "%comspec%|c:\scripts\zip.exe -m " & Datestamp & ".zip *.hl7 >> ""c:\scripts\zip.log""",1,TRUE
    end sub
    I've been searching for the answer for the last day and a half, and I think I must be searching for the wrong terms (or it's so basic no one asks)...but what I've tried so far:

Code:
     objShell.run "%comspec%|c:\scripts\zip.exe -m " & Datestamp & ".zip *.hl7 >> ""c:\scripts\zip.log""",1,TRUE
    Returns "The system cannot find the file specified" error (jpg attached as WSH_error)
    Code:
    objShell.run "%comspec% | c:\scripts\zip.exe -m " & Datestamp & ".zip *.hl7 >> ""c:\scripts\zip.log""",1,TRUE
    Opens the command window, but does not run the piped command and halts the script until the command window is closed
    Code:
    objShell.run "%comspec% /c|c:\scripts\zip.exe -m " & Datestamp & ".zip *.hl7 >> ""c:\scripts\zip.log""",1,TRUE