Scripting PC Configuration

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Scripting PC Configuration

I'm new to the scripting world and would appreciate any help you might offer. Currently I'm manually configuring desktops purchased w/ XPsp2 and Office 2003 Professional.

While I could easily clone/ghost one machine and solve the problem I'd prefer to have a script that would do the following:

Setup Power Schemes
    Set Home Page
    Start a service
    Turn off animated characters in Search
    Turn on Quick Launch
    Disable Desktop Cleanup Wizard
    Set Start Menu to Classic
    Disable File Sharing
    Rename Admin Account
    Clear page file at shutdown
    That sort of thing.

I'm doing some of these tasks by using GPEDIT on the desktop.

I've googled for this info and come up w/ several suggestions using GPO's. I'm still on an NT4 domain (upgrading in the spring) and would like to automate allot of my work using a script from the command line.

Thanks

Re: Scripting PC Configuration

Virtually all these settings are in the registry. You just need to leanr how to write a batch file (very simple) to use the reg.exe command (comes with windows) to change the settings. Finding the settings that correspond to what you want will be a little tricky but not impossible.
    Server 2000 MCP
    Development: ASP, ASP.Net, PHP, VB, VB.Net, MySQL, MSSQL - Check out my blog http://tonyyeb.blogspot.com

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points sigpic where appropriate **

Comment

If you are installing the computers by yourself, I would advice you to use nlite to prepare a bootable, unattended installation disk. This software allows you to preset your environment, including tweaks, services and such.

Sorin Solomon

In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure.
      -

Comment

Thanks for the input.