Net drives map bat/vb script

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Net drives map bat/vb script

I am new to bat/vb scripting and need to create a file which will restore all network drives for my users. However, many of them utilize different mapped drives so a simple bat script with net use assigning static drives is not applicable. What I would like to do, and know is possible, is to have a script that will iterate through all current mapped drives and then when it is run again, re-map those drives. The only thing I am unsure how to do is to "record" the current mapped drives. Any suggestions?

I am sure this is basic but googling provided nothing and I do not have much in the way of other resources yet.

Thanks.

Re: Net drives map bat/vb script

This IMO is a BAD way of doing it. Assign AD Security groups to the shared areas, set permissions if required, and add users to the groups they need to map drives for.

Then, create a CMD file as a login script to map the drives each time they log in:

usage: ifmember [/verbose][/list]groupname ...
    /verbose will print out all matches.
    /list will print out all groups user is a member of.
    Return Code shows number of groups this user is a member of.
    Example: ifmember /v /l "MyDomain\Domain Users" Users Everyone

SO:

Code:
    ifmember "mapdriveA"
    if not errorlevel 1 goto check2
    net use Z: \\server\driveA /persistent:no

:check2
    ifmember "mapdriveB"
    if not errorlevel 1 goto end
    net use Y: \\server\driveB /persistent:no

:end
    exit

Tom
    For my own and your protection, I do not provide support by private message under any circumstances. All such messages will be deleted and ignored.

Anything you say will be misquoted and used against you

Comment

Originally posted by Stonelaughter View Post
      This IMO is a BAD way of doing it. Assign AD Security groups to the shared areas, set permissions if required, and add users to the groups they need to map drives for.