Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with VBS

Greetings,

I need to have the following .Bat command run in a VBS script and have not been successful. Does someone know the syntax to make this command run in a VBS script?

Touch "C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\NTUSER.dat"

Touch "C:\Documents and Settings\Vendor\NTUSER.dat"

Thank you.
    Last edited by Jonny; 4th December 2006, 18:58.

Re: Help with VBS

Now I'm not very good with scripting (and I guessing that others will probably want to see what your script looks like so far and what you're trying to do) but is this what you're looking for?
    Code:
    Set objShell = CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
    objShell.Run PathAndName.bat
    Regards,
    Jeremy

Network Consultant/Engineer
    Baltimore - Washington area and beyond
    www.gma-cpa.com

Comment

Thanks for the response I did not consider calling the .bat file but that would work too. I am trying to delete unused local profiles without deleting the my Vendor or Administrator accounts. I was hoping that there was a way to call touch.exe using VBS so it would all run from a VBS script.

The .bat that I wanted to convert to VBS code for touch is above and here is the VBS I have so far that calls delprof.exe.

<this is where the VBS code to run the touch utility would be>

WScript.SLeep 6000

Const MAXIMIZE_WINDOW = 3
      Set objShell = WScript.CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
      objShell.Run "delprof.exe /q /i /d:60", MAXIMIZE_WINDOW

Thank you so much for taking the time to help me this problem was dropped in my lap and I a scripting noob.
      Last edited by Jonny; 4th December 2006, 20:19.

Comment

You have the Run and Exec methods on the WScript.Shell object. Either should work. "Run" is equivalent to the traditional Shell in VB.

These are samples from the WSH documentation:

Run Method (Windows Script Host)

Runs a program in a new process.

object.Run(strCommand, [intWindowStyle], [bWaitOnReturn])