Ctrl+Alt+Ins stopped working

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ctrl+Alt+Ins stopped working

Help, please. I'm fairly new to VMware, so I ask for your patience. I'm using vSphere Client and vCenter Server 5.1.0. I was able to use ctrl-alt-ins to send a ctrl-alt-del to my vm servers until one day last week. No known changes happened to the vCenter server. How do I fix it so that I can use ctrl-alt-ins again instead of having to use the menu item? Thank you!

Re: Ctrl+Alt+Ins stopped working

Originally posted by Cyndi View Post
    Help, please. I'm fairly new to VMware, so I ask for your patience. I'm using vSphere Client and vCenter Server 5.1.0. I was able to use ctrl-alt-ins to send a ctrl-alt-del to my vm servers until one day last week. No known changes happened to the vCenter server. How do I fix it so that I can use ctrl-alt-ins again instead of having to use the menu item? Thank you!
    Have you upgraded IE on your PC recently?

Comment

Are you clicking on the VM before hitting ctrl+alt+ins? You can get away with not clicking on it if it is a VM you were just working on and it's coming back from a reboot. If this is coming up from being shut down, though, you'll need to click the console screen first before any action can be taken.

Comment

No, I haven't upgraded IE lately. Plus, this is happening for everyone in our group, no matter what o/s or browser they're using.

And I am clicking inside the client window. What happens when I then do ctrl-alt-ins is the system sees only the ctrl-alt and releases the mouse from inside the client window.

Comment

Strange. I'm using 5.1.0, 799733, and it works for me.

Next step: go to the summary tab for your VM in the vSphere client and make sure VMware Tools are installed and up-to-date.

Comment

Does this apply to all VMs or only some?
            Tom Jones
            MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+