VMWARE 4.1 ESXi Cloning process - issues

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• VMWARE 4.1 ESXi Cloning process - issues

Hello all, I am still fairly new to the VMware environment so please forgive me if I am not using some of these terms correctly. I inherited this system from our previous IT manager and we are just trying to get it under control.

OS - VMware 4.1 ESXi

We have a VM SQL server that has a few critical applications on it. I noticed that someone left a snapshot attached that has grown to 475GB while the VM itself is only 110 GB max.

After doing a little research simply deleting the snapshot is no longer a viable option as per VMware's website and multiple online articles. Trying to delete a snapshot of this size could hang the system for a week or worse.

The option we came up with is to try and clone the system without the snapshot attached. When we try this we get an error "insufficient disk space". We have almost 400GB available space for a 110GB VM. So I am assuming the host is seeing the snapshot and trying to do something with it.

Is there a way to clone the VM an NOT have it take into account the attached snapshot?

If so, how?
    If Not, does anyone have a good solution to get out of this mess?

Re: VMWARE 4.1 ESXi Cloning process - issues

Oh dear, that's not a good situation...

One option I've seen people take in that kind of situation is to transfer the software and data into a new VM, effectively performing a P2V operation. VMware Converter can be used to do this, make it think it's converting a physical machine - if you've used Converter before you should know the process to follow.

I would definitely stop SQL services during that process, to ensure you can a consistent data transfer into the new VM. Once complete and tested, you simply delete the old VM.
    VCP2 / VCP3 / VCP4 / VCP 5 / VCAP-DCA4 / VCI / vExpert 2010-2012

Comment

The option Scott mentioned is the only option I could think of it as well.