Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What are low cost fail over options?

I am new to virtualization.

I am looking to set up a fail-over windows server. I looked into using two servers with a SAN. However with SAN's appearing to cost $5,000+ they are out of our price range.

We do not need instant fail-over. As long as I can get the backup server up within an hour or so, that is fine.

I also considered just creating a nightly Acronis disk image of the primary server. Then if it goes down, I can image the secondary server with last night's image. The only problem with this idea is that the image is at least several hours old by mid-day and it can take several hours to image the secondary server's hard drive with the backup image.

Is there a better way to do this using VMware or Hyper-V? Is doing hourly snapshots and using those as fail-over disk images a better idea than using Acronis disk images?

I'm looking for ideas. Thanks for your help.

-Doug

Re: What are low cost fail over options?

You could look at setting up your own "SAN" using FreeNAS or OpenFiler. Once you start looking at redundant virtualisation platforms, the price will start to go up though.
    Gareth Howells

BSc (Hons), MBCS, MCP, MCDST, ICCE

Any advice is given in good faith and without warranty.

Please give reputation points if somebody has helped you.

"For by now I could have stretched out my hand and struck you and your people with a plague that would have wiped you off the Earth." (Exodus 9:15) - I could kill you with my thumb.

"Everything that lives and moves will be food for you." (Genesis 9:3) - For every animal you don't eat, I'm going to eat three.

Comment

iSCSI can be implemented with software only solution, as gforceindustries wrote above, so all you need is some hardware to run the iSCSI services. Hardware iSCSI storage systems are available too. A Buffalo Terastation 3 iSCSI box with four terabytes of RAIDable storage costs around $1100.