Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

ESXi4: Linux Guest Without X (CLI), Do We Really Need to Install VMwareTools?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ESXi4: Linux Guest Without X (CLI), Do We Really Need to Install VMwareTools?

Hi,

I'm new to ESXi4. This is my 5 days of using ESXi4.

I created a linux guest "Ubuntu Server 10.04.1 32-bit" to works as my email server platform.

For a start, everything is working smooth and sound and the email server is working rock!

Yesterday, I installed the "VMwareTools for Linux".

Today, almost everyone inthe office complaining about the frequent disconnection to the email server and yet I could not trace any error / warning issues on my email server logs as well as the system logs from ESXi4.

However, I noticed that after the installation of the tools, Warning message do occurred whenever the Ubuntu boot-up (pls see attached). But, after that, the boot is normal and everything running as usual and I guest the error is not serious, so I don't really bother.

But with today experience, I wish to uninstall the "VMwareTools" now.

So, wouldl ike to seek some advise from forumer is the "VMwareTools" really necessary in this environment - Without X, the GUI!

Thanks.
    Attached Files

Re: ESXi4: Linux Guest Without X (CLI), Do We Really Need to Install VMwareTools?

I don't have VM tools installed on any of or linux guests.

Not sure how oyu installed it but have you seen this article from VMware???

http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/mic...rnalId=1018414

Comment

Re: ESXi4: Linux Guest Without X (CLI), Do We Really Need to Install VMwareTools?

Hi wullieb1,

Thanks for the KB and yes, the KB described is exactly what I had gone through.

BTW, since you do not install the tools into any Linux guest, what about those benefits like vNIC driver to run at 1Gbps, Paravirtual SCSI module, memory manager guest shutdown etc?

Doesn't it really help?

Comment

Originally posted by jslh View Post