Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• San and Virtualization newbee

Hi Friends,

I am new to SAN and Virtualization, please bare with me if my q's sound stupid,

I believe there is three different pieces that I need to learn,

1, settting up and configuring your SAN hardware,
    2, setup and configuration of Virtualizatin software in my case it is Vmware,
    3, then, setup the iscsi ready switch and configure it,

Currently I am learning Vmware Vsphere 4.1 and ESX servers in my test labs and upto now it seem to going ok,

The piece that is puzzling me is that how am I going to configure the switch? for example the q's I have are,

each physical servers where you have ESX server installed will come with usually more then one network slots or NICs how am I going to connect it to the iscsi ready switch?

Same with Connectivity from SAN to the Switch, SAN that I have looked at has 4 network slots, how are they connected to the switch,

I read I have to use NIC teaming or network load balancing, where do I do these?

What kind of configuration is needed on the switch it self and on the SAN and ESX server?

Is there a guide to do this or article on these? or possibly some sort of virtual appliance?

Please help as I am very much confused here,

As always thanks for all you help,

Re: San and Virtualization newbee

Yantra,

The first place I would start is the iSCSI SAN Configuration Guide provided by VMware. That document is located HERE. Also, since you don't call out the particular make and model of your SAN I would check there website or contact there support for any best practice guides they may have for using there product with VMware. I know that EMC, Dell, and NetApp provide such guides.

-Jason
    MCSA/MCSE 2K3,MCITP:ESA,MCTS x 4,VCP x 2

Comment

Thanks Jason,