Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• VMWare Converter : How to virtualize my environment

Hello All,

I am a total newbie for any type of VMWare activity in general.

I want to use VMWare convertor to build a VM Machine of my main Home PC.

The configuration is as follows :

Harddisk 1:
    Partition 1: Windows XP (NTFS)
    Partition 2: Ubuntu Linux (Ext3)
    Partition 3: Linux Swap

HardDisk 2:
    Partition 1: Windows 7 (NTFS)
    Partition 2: General Data (NTFS)

Primary operating system used is Windows XP.

When I boot the computer it runs in the following sequence:

1. GRUB BootLoader (with default option to select Windows 7 Loader)

2. Windows 7 Bootloader Menu (with default option to select Old version of Windows -XP)

3. Windows XP Bootlloader Menu (with default option to boot into Windows XP alongside with Recovery console).

And the Windows XP starts automatically everytime I boot the PC, with the option ofcourse to select any other OS at the boot time.

How to make the VMware image of this machine , also please guide which "Deploy.cab" file to use and where to place its files. Which partitions to select. I want to make a possibly true replica of this configuration in the VMMachine.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Regards.

Re: VMWare Converter : How to virtualize my environment

try looking into the "vmware convertor" cold-clone cd.
    It will require you to have an active ESX or esxi server somewhere though...

it will then fully clone eveyrthing exactly as it is, a nd import it correctly
    Please do show your appreciation to those who assist you by leaving Rep Point https://www.petri.com/forums/core/im.../icon_beer.gif

Comment

Originally posted by tehcamel View Post
      try looking into the "vmware convertor" cold-clone cd.
      It will require you to have an active ESX or esxi server somewhere though...

it will then fully clone eveyrthing exactly as it is, a nd import it correctly
      Thanks a lot for your help.