Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Installation of VM Ware 4.0 EXSI on bare metal...newbie question

Hello,

I have just installed VM Ware EXSI on a test server on bare metal.

Through trial and error, I discovered that you must use the VSphere client to connect remotely to the virtual servers that I created on the test server.

While I think it is a great idea, I just want to make sure that this is a must.

In other words, is it possible to see the virtual servers at the server itself?

Please be gentle, I am a rookie lol, thanks!
    Last edited by ukiltmybrutha; 4th November 2009, 18:22.

Re: Installation of VM Ware 4.0 EXSI on bare metal...newbie question

ukiltmybrutha,

If I am understanding your question correctly, you are currently accessing your ESXi server via the VMware Infrastructure client and seeing a listing of you VM's listed there. From there I am guessing you are launching the "console" to access the servers.

If this assumption is correct, the other way to access the servers directly would be via RDP if dealing with Windows based servers or SSH if dealing with linux based servers.

-Jason
    MCSA/MCSE 2K3,MCITP:ESA,MCTS x 4,VCP x 2

Comment

Originally posted by VWA4 View Post
      ukiltmybrutha,

If I am understanding your question correctly, you are currently accessing your ESXi server via the VMware Infrastructure client and seeing a listing of you VM's listed there. From there I am guessing you are launching the "console" to access the servers.

If this assumption is correct, the other way to access the servers directly would be via RDP if dealing with Windows based servers or SSH if dealing with linux based servers.

-Jason
      Jason,

I think that you are understanding my question. Basically I wanted to verify that there is no way that I can access the virtual servers at the physical server.

I believe this is what you are saying.

Is that the case?

Thanks again!

Comment

Yep, that is it! RDP and SSH.

-Jason