No announcement yet.

vSphere Physical to iSCSI SAN Migration Ideas

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• vSphere Physical to iSCSI SAN Migration Ideas

Hello everyone – thanks as always for your advice. I would like to brainstorm a bit here so forgive the long post.

I am considering a project to migrate many of my organization’s physical servers to a virtualized, iSCSI SAN environment. I would like to hear your opinions and experiences with this technology. As for the VMHOST, I think I am okay in that area – basically, as many cores in one CPU as possible for licensing and as much RAM as possible.

I understand that there is no “cookie-cutter” method to recommend specific SAN hardware for x number of VMs, so let’s not get too buried in details unless absolutely necessary. Also, I am not a storage engineer (but trying to learn) so my apologies in advance if some parts this post seem ridiculous.

10 Gb iSCSI seems to be just as expensive as Fibre Channel so I would like to stick with 1 Gb iSCSI. I would also like to use vMotion and DRS so dual switches and controllers will be necessary. For now, the most VMs that I would run are 20, 1 CPU, 1 GB RAM, 20 GB, general purpose server VMs. As with any business, cost will be an important factor.

According to the VMWare HCL for 4i, the HP LeftHand P4000 series and HP MSA2300i series are listed as fully supported – and quite expensive.

Would you or have you used the HP Procurve switch for this type of deployment? If not the Procurve, what would you use – Cisco such as the Cisco Catalyst 2960G-24TC-L? The switches will be on their own VLAN.