Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Small business set up - ESXi - Any Advice?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Small business set up - ESXi - Any Advice?

I am new to virtualisation and after some advice on my small business set up.

I currently have about 30 users - and run 3 main servers:

1x Win2003 SBS running AD and Exchange on Intel based server (1xXeon 3070 / 4GB RAM / Adaptec 3805 / 5x250G SATA in RAID 5)
    1x Win2003 Std File Server and terminal server for a couple of users (1xXeon 3070 / 4GB RAM / Adaptec 3805 / 5x500G SATA RAID 5 with 1 hot spare)
    1x Debian / MySQL / Apache box (3.0GHz P4 / Intel Server MB / 1GB RAM / 2x 200G SATA in software RAID 1)

The Windows boxes have been running nicely for 2yrs but the 4.5yr old DB box is starting to struggle. It serves a PHP / MySQL application we have developed. The db data is critical to the business. The db data is up to 13GB and recently it has become really slow. Most of the data (12GB) is jpegs and pdfs stored in the tables. I am considering removing these to the file system.

Anyway, I have a new Dell PowerEdge R710 (2x Quad Core Xeon / 32GB RAM / 6x300GB 15k SAS in Raid 10). I installed ESXi 3.5 and recently updated to ESXi 4. I have had it up and running with 4 VM's to test.

I am thinking of running the following VMs on the Dell host:
    - Linux database server (production)
    - Linux database server (development)
    - WinXP to be used over RDP for accounting software
    - Other test VMs e.g web filtering software

I am not sure whether to virtualize the Windows servers. If I could get ESXi on all three boxes then I guess I could move the VMs around if hardware failure occurs (but obviously not with local storage).

Some of my questions:
    What is the best way to set up the linux database server using the local datastore? ie do I create one large VM or move the mysql data onto a separate partition?