VM copy of laptop cannot connect to domain

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• VM copy of laptop cannot connect to domain

Hello all - new to VMWare, I'm hoping this is a simple question.

I'm a contract application developer. Since my customer does not have the budget to replace my crappy laptop, I thought I'd do this:

Buy my OWN new laptop
    Use VMWare converter and make a VM of my crappy laptop (with expanded memory, hard drive space)
    Run the new Virtual laptop on my new laptop (VMWare Workstation 6.5)

VMWare converter worked just fine, and the virtual laptop works great from home through a VPN connection. In the office, however, I can't login to the domain. I know it is connected to the network, because it worked ONCE (was able to login and work just fine). After that time, I get this:

"Windows cannot [COLOR=blue ! important][COLOR=blue ! important]connect[/COLOR][/COLOR] to the domain either because the domain controller is down or otherwise unavailable, or because your computer account was not found. Please try again later. If this message continues to appear contact your System Administrator for assistance."

If it matters, I have also inadvertently had the REAL laptop and the virtual laptop connected at the same time, and received the message "Duplicate name found on network" (or something like that). Obviously it knows I'm there...

Anyway, did I do something wrong? I'm wondering how Active Directory knows that my "virtual" laptop is not the real thing?

So, I'm back to using my crappy laptop until I get this working. Otherwise, I bought a really expensive laptop for nothing...

If it matters:

Host OS: Vista Home Premium 64 bit
    Guest OS: WinXP

Thanks,

Dave

Re: VM copy of laptop cannot connect to domain

Have you tried rejoining your (virtual) laptop to the domain?
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+