No announcement yet.

VMware Server 2.0 Web Based Login?

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• VMware Server 2.0 Web Based Login?

I'm brand new to VMware. I'm taking a CompTIA A+ class and the instructor talked about VMware, it sounded interesting, so I went home D/L Server 2.0 and installed it. When I first clicked on "VMware Server Home Page" icon, my browser opened but would not connect. In the bottom left of the window it changes from "Connecting" to "Connected" quickly about 10 times and then I get "The network link was interrupted while negotiating a connection. Please try again." message. I searched and found that is likely an "Internet Information Services Manager" problem but, I went here: and read about "Starting the VMware Web Service" topic and tried to follow the directions unsuccessfully, I think. I'm running Vista x64 Ultimate and the examples for "Stopping the default Web Site" and "Starting VMware Management Interface" didn't work because I didn't have VMware Managemant Interface even listed in the "Administrative Tools/Computer Management." However, I did try to go to http://localhost:8222. in my browser and it brought up "VMware Infrastructure Web Access" Login / Password window. But I don't know what I should enter there. What should I enter for Login and Password? And how do I get the "VMware Server Home Page" icon to work properly?

Re: VMware Server 2.0 Web Based Login?

I think it uses SSL, so be sure you enable it under IIS.

Also make sure the port is not blocked by any firewall on the server.

Question 1) What port are you refering to...I'm assuming since it uses the web browser you mean port 80 or 443? Which one? Or both?