Requesting Hardware Opinions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Requesting Hardware Opinions

I've inherited a network with 50 + users running on 2 terminal servers supported by 2 W2K domain controllers, an Exchange 2003 server, and a SQL 2000 server for a printing solution. File serving and VPNs are handled by one of the DCs, Backups by the other DC. The warranties have expired so I finally get to rebuild this.

I'm very new to VMware, but my gut is to virtualize this network to make upgrading to Windows 2008 easier. I have extensive testing to do to make sure everything will work, and no budget for test hardware. So a big ESX server would be just the ticket to run the old network side by side with a test network.

The Dell Sales Engineer suggested a pair of dual quad core 36 gig ESX 1950s connected to an MD3000i iSCSI san and just rip everything onto that. I would use the one new standalone server they have for management and retread one of the faster older servers as a domain controller.

Is this plan complete suicide, vis performance? What other questions should I be asking? I'm kind of looking at this as creating one gigantic SBS.

Re: Requesting Hardware Opinions

prmolina,

The two dell servers you listed should be more then enough CPU horsepower to drive what you are looking at doing. One thing you failed to mention however was the amount of RAM you are spec'ing for each server. If you get around 16GB per that should be more then enough to handle the load of all VM's running on a single ESX host if you have to bring the other down for maintenance or have hardware issues (assuming you are going to do an ESX "datacenter" with the two hosts).

I am not that familiar with the Dell iSCSI SAN you mentioned, but as long as you get enough disk spindles in the unit you shouldn't have to worry to much about disk I/O for the more critcal application servers like SQL and Exchange.

-Jason
    MCSA/MCSE 2K3,MCITP:ESA,MCTS x 4,VCP x 2

Comment