Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Datacenter Virtualisation : Server Post Installation Tests ??

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Datacenter Virtualisation : Server Post Installation Tests ??

Hi Guys,

I am working on a project where my team is involved in building virtual servers for a datacenter. I've been asked to produce a list of post-installation tests that can performed to confirm that everything is fine with a server.

As i am a newbie to virtusalisation , i really dont know what to check and where ? Can someone PLEASE provide me some easy checks\test steps to

1. Test connectivity of ESX Server box with AD ?
    2. Check to make sure that storage and backup is working OK ?
    3. Check to makre sure monitoring is working ?
    4. Check around Datastores ??
    5. Any other System Intergration tests ??

Thanks heaps in advance.

Cheers,
    N.
    Last edited by namz; 15th December 2008, 00:35. Reason: Missed a step

Re: Datacenter Virtualisation : Server Post Installation Tests ??

A very brief, and more importantly incomplete, list:

1) Backups

Monitor the logs produced by your backup application. Check that the size of the backup archive matches the size of the source. Test restoring from your backups regularly. If someone deletes a file, can you restore it? If the storage subsystem of a server falls apart, can you recover? If one of your servers is destroyed, can you restore to a dissimilar system? What happen if I steal one of your backup tapes - can you still recover then?

2) Basic Connectivity

Ping the server to see if you get a response. Check it's TCP/IP settings and make sure that it's getting an IP address on the correct subnet, and that the DNS servers, WINS servers and default gateway are correct.

3) AD Connectivity