X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2 ESX Questions: Cloning and Shortcuts

Hi there',

Question 1:

How come i don't have the cloning option?

Question 2:

Is it possible to create a desktop shortcut to a VM machine? (Like in VMware Server 2.0)

10X All!
    Last edited by LiorSAN; 2nd October 2008, 10:45.

Re: 2 ESX Questions: Cloning and Shortcuts

Question 1 - It looks like you don't have the Virtual Centre management add-on. This is where the cloning side of things is located and you have to pay for it.

If you don't have multiple ESX servers or the budget for the add-on, there are some guides on how to clone a server by hand using just ESX server and the converter. It's a bit more complicated but takes about 10 mins to create a new server so much quicker than building from scratch.

If you like, I can post our guide on how to clone with just ESX and converter or pm you a copy.

Question 2 - sorry, no idea. I'm still very very new to ESX so learning the ropes myself
    This message represents the official view of the voices in my head

Comment

I would love for some guides if u have some. Notice that I need desktop shortcuts for only the VM guest OS and not for the server it self...

Comment

have a look at this posting on my blog. it's pretty much the guise we use internally for this kind of thing but with a few mods.

Enjoy!
        This message represents the official view of the voices in my head

Comment

Originally posted by LiorSAN View Post
          Question 2:

Is it possible to create a desktop shortcut to a VM machine? (Like in VMware Server 2.0)
          No.

The closest you can get right now is integrated authentication (Single Sign On) in the Virtual Infrastructure Client.

Look up VMware Knowledgebase Artice 1006611
          VCDX3 #34, VCDX4, VCDX5, VCAP4-DCA #14, VCAP4-DCD #35, VCAP5-DCD, VCPx4, vEXPERTx4, MCSEx3, MCSAx2, MCP, CCAx2, A+
          boche.net - VMware Virtualization Evangelist