ESX Server

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ESX Server

I am investigating vmware and I would like to install it on my pc as I am lead to believe that you can obtain a 60 day evaluation.

Can I install it on my pc or do I need to have a san?

Sorry for the stupid question but I am new to vmware.

Re: ESX Server

ESX is supported on a wide range of SERVER systems; it CAN sometimes be installed on workstation hardware but you're talking about a full moon, a following wind and a four leafed clover in your pocket. Also, it would be completely unsupported.

Don't forget that ESX installs on bare metal - it does not install on Windows or Linux and it's almost impossible to get it working in a virtualised environment. (I say almost simply because I have heard anecdotes of people getting it working in a VM but I don't REALLY believe it).

Tom
    For my own and your protection, I do not provide support by private message under any circumstances. All such messages will be deleted and ignored.

Anything you say will be misquoted and used against you

Comment

::glances at the OP's forum name::

You're new to VMWare, but you're a VMWare admin. That's fine, but get ready to inhale a vast amount of information to get proficient at this.

How'd you land your VM admin job or did you involuntarily volunteer?

Anyways, here's some links about this topic:
      http://itknowledgeexchange.techtarge...n-a-vmware-vm/
      http://itknowledgeexchange.techtarge...erver-and-usb/

Keep it up!
      Wesley David
      LinkedIn | Careers 2.0
      -------------------------------
      Microsoft Certifications: MCSE 2003 | MCSA:Messaging 2003 | MCITP:EA, SA, EST | MCTS: a'plenty | MCDST
      Vendor Neutral Certifications: CWNA
      Blog: www.TheNubbyAdmin.com || Twitter: @Nonapeptide || GTalk, Reader and Google+: [email protected] || Skype: Wesley.Nonapeptide
      Goofy kitten avatar photo from Troy Snow: flickr.com/photos/troysnow/

Comment