Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to VMWare

Hi Guys,

I'm new to VMWare and would appreciate some thoughts on what's the best thing for me to do.

I have several small, old servers running different applications, one of these servers is also a domain controller (BDC in old talk!)

I have bought a HP DL350 with twin processors and 8GB RAM, so I can run several virtual servers to replace the small old ones using VMWare. The OS is Server 2003 R2 enterprise edition with SP2.

The question is, do I also create a virtual server to replace the server that's my existing domain controller, or do I run the new server with the Domain Controller on the host OS and then create the virtual servers just for the applications that were on the old servers?

Thanks

Phil C

Re: New to VMWare

VMWare cannot be a host OS for a DC. well, actually it can, but it's not a good idea to try that
    ________
    Vapor Genie
    Last edited by DYasny; 6th March 2011, 18:23.
    Real stupidity always beats Artificial Intelligence (c) Terry Pratchett

BA (BM), RHCE, MCSE, DCSE, Linux+, Network+

Comment

Also, don't try to double up your Host OS as a domain controller. Have one physical server as domain controller, and one physical server as your VM host.

//ignore - sorry I misread Dy's post.

Tom
      For my own and your protection, I do not provide support by private message under any circumstances. All such messages will be deleted and ignored.

Anything you say will be misquoted and used against you

Comment

Originally posted by Phil_C View Post
        Hi Guys,
        Hi buddy!

I'm new to VMWare and would appreciate some thoughts on what's the best thing for me to do.
        Sure no problem!

I have several small, old servers running different applications, one of these servers is also a domain controller (BDC in old talk!)
        BDC?! Holy Cow! It's NT4, run for the hills! Save yourselves!