Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Protecting the ESX 3.5 server

Hi,

I am new to this subject so bare with me.
    How do you protect an physical ESX 3.5 server from disaster without buying software?
    Can you give me an working step by step?

Thanks

Re: Protecting the ESX 3.5 server

I am not sure i follow your question...

How do you protect an ESX server from disaster without buying software...?

You could copy the install CD's, the license code, and backup all VM's nightly to offsite tape. If you had a disaster, you could reinstall the server, the license, and restore the VM's. This is, of course, the traditional approach.

What is it that you are looking for?

Thanks
    David
    David Davis - Petri Forums Moderator & Video Training Author
    Train Signal - The Global Leader in IT Video Training
    TrainSignalTraining.com - Free IT Training Products
    Personal Websites: HappyRouter.com & VMwareVideos.com

Comment

We have the VMware ESX software 3.5 and it is licensed.
      we need to have some DR inplace for thes ESX server and I was wondering, how to incase of an disaster get this esx server back.

Thanks

Comment

There are a lot of options here.

Here are just some of them:
        1. you could run a traditional linux BU client in the ESX service console, write a script that would shutdown the VMs, back them up from the VMFS, and send that over to your BU server.
        2. you could use VMware's VCB to do image or file level backups, then backup the VCB server with a BU client (your current backup software provider may have VCB integration scripts or instructions on how to backup vmware)
        3. you could use traditional BU clients in the guest VMs and just plan on reinstalling your ESX server, then restoring the guests.
        4. look at: esxpress & Vizioncore's vranger as they do differential level backups.