Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• questions about VMWare capabilities..

Hi all,

First - I am new here, sorry if post is not posted in the right forum to the right people. And second - I am new with VMWare.

I read about different VMWare products, about VMWare performance, some use cases. And I have few questions in my mind. Will be great if someone give me litle more light or directions and save me time for searching or trying. Some questions are maybe not logic or totally wrong - please advice. Thank you very much in advance.

Here my questions (I think mostly about VMWare workstation):

1. Maybe worring about performance, so thinking like - is it possible to install two OS and to boot into as native and as virtual. Example - 2 different WinXP installations: "corporate" and "private". I want to be able to boot both (performance). Sometimes I could need to load second OS inside VMWare (say first OS is already loaded and I need to login quickly into second without rebooting)

2. Thinking about security and virus protection. If I have host OS, without "stupid" 3rd party software. And guest OS for testng and anything. Then, can I think like "it is 99.9% sure no one program from guest OS can even touch my host OS"?
    I think, the opposite is not true (host OS for "anything" and stable guest OS).

3. One simple example about hardware compatibility question - I have guess OS on my laptop. Can I use "function" keys inside (volume Up/Down). If I move it to another host OS (laptop or desktop) will I be able to use "function" keys or any specific hardware devices? Or can you run something like TV tuner (just example) inside guess OS?

4. ESX server hardware limitations - the same example, can I install it on my laptop? What about "function" keys?

Thank you for your time.
    Plamen.

Re: questions about VMWare capabilities..