HELP, I'm new to VMware Sever

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HELP, I'm new to VMware Sever

Hi, I just installed VMware Server mainly just to use ubuntu and a host windows xp for browsing and downloading for increased security. What i have found is that whenever i start my host windows xp, it gets to the welcome screen then lags for a minute before displaying my background picture and it takes around another minute for the desktop to be fully functional. Can anyone please explain why this is and help me with how to solve this.

(Also what is this iis that the installer is complaining about?) (BTW, I am not a very technical user so if possible please use technical terms to a minimum.)

Thanks in advance

Re: HELP, I'm new to VMware Sever

One cause for you Lagging could be the machine is still in the process of loading the Virtual Machine.

What are your system specs? Unfortunately, it may be an issue that one may just have to live with.

From the sounds of it your Host Machine (Physical Hardware) is running XP. Correct?
    If so, I would check the settings of the Virtual Machine for Ubuntu and check if the machine is supposed to automatically start when windows starts. If this is the case it too could be the cause of your machine being laggy at startup. I would recommend a setup of On host startup, Don't power on virtual machine. This can be set by Selecting the Virtaul macnine you wish to check > VM Button > Settings > Options Tab > Startup/Shutdown Option. (Machine must be powerd off) See Attached File (VM-Server_Startup-Shutdown_Screen.jpg).

As for IIS. It stands for Internet Information Services/Systems. It is the Microsoft Web Server. It is used by VM Ware for a web interface to VM Ware. It isn't really required unless you would like the ability to view your VM Ware Server VIA a web-interface. (see attached VM-Server_Web_Screen.jpg for basic shot of web interface)