Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Virtual machine maintenance

Hallo everyone,

I am having a problem with renewing a bunch of virtual machine accounts in Active Directory.

The environment is used for software testing and constitutes images with Exchange, Citrix, AD, Win2000, XP, 2003, applications, antivirus, ...

Not all images are used constantly. Images are brought alive as customer needs arise.

I am new to the system admin world so I am quite puzzled as to how such an environment could me maintained easiest.

There are 8 PCs with +- 4 images each.
    Two DCs in main domain and two DCs in sub-domain.

The biggest problem is the expiration of machine accounts after 999 days. What is the most intelligent way of managing this issue? Are there any tutorials, examples .. out there?

How is this problem solved usually?

Kind regards
    Wolfhard Aring
    Brussels, Belgium
    Quality Assurance Engineer

Re: Virtual machine maintenance

Hi wolfhard
    Thanks for your post!
    This sounds like a general Windows server issue - machine accounts expiring.
    I didn't know that machine accounts expired but I bet there is someone around here with more knowledge than us on that.

Is there a Windows server expert "in the house" (on the Petri Forums) that can tell us how to modify the account expiration for machine accounts?

Thanks to anyone who might be able to help us over here in the vmware forum!

David
    David Davis - Petri Forums Moderator & Video Training Author
    Train Signal - The Global Leader in IT Video Training
    TrainSignalTraining.com - Free IT Training Products
    Personal Websites: HappyRouter.com & VMwareVideos.com

Comment

I'm not familiar with the machine account expiring but are you talking about the password?

http://technet2.microsoft.com/Window....mspx?mfr=true
      Regards,
      Jeremy

Network Consultant/Engineer
      Baltimore - Washington area and beyond
      www.gma-cpa.com

Comment