Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help copying files from Windows XP base machine to Windows 7 Virtual PC

Hello all,
    I am a newbie here; and perhaps like you all, a desperate problem has brought me here.
    I am running Windows 7 on virtual PC and to perform certain tasks, I am simply trying to drag and drop some files from my base Windows XP machine to the Windows 7 Virtual PC.
    However, it doesn't seem to work.
    I have tried:
    - drag and drop
    - copy and paste
    - Installing virtual machine additions
    - rebooting the computer

None seem to help. Any ideas from those who have done this before or seem to know the technical reason behind it?
    Thanks in advance!

Re: Help copying files from Windows XP base machine to Windows 7 Virtual PC

Have you installed / enabled the virtual machine additions?

Edit -- sorry, I see you have installed them -- have you checked in the properties of the VM they are enabled?
    Have you rebooted your VPC since?

Have you tried reinstalling the additions?
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

Originally posted by Ossian View Post
      Have you installed / enabled the virtual machine additions?

have you checked in the properties of the VM they are enabled?
      Have you rebooted your VPC since?

Have you tried reinstalling the additions?

I did install my virtual machine after installing the virtual machine addition, however, it is now coming up with a blue screen of death!
      If I don't install the virtual machine addition, it runs fine. But ofcourse, there is no point if I cannot copy files into the virtual machine.

I am trying to reinstall the windows 7 on virtual PC now. Will keep you posted.