Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Connecting Virtual PC Server 03 to internet

Hello,

I'm new to computing and have installed virtual pc 07 in order to do lab exercises on server 03 (I know it's old). I'm using it as a member server. I had no problems installing the server, but when it came to setting up tcp/ip, I didn't really know what to do. I just mirrored the info that I had recieved from runnning ipconfig /all on my host. I got a message saying "A static ip already exists" so I left DNS blank and now the Local Area Connection icon says "acquiring network address" and just sits there. I'm assuming this is DNS considering I had to leave it blank because of the error.

Does anybody know how to setup tcp/ip on virtual pc 07 running server 03 as a member server? If so, am I missing anything else?

Any help would really be appreciated since this seems to pretty much be step 1!
    Last edited by Feariddle; 18th July 2010, 21:37. Reason: It's a member server

Re: Connecting Virtual PC Server 03 to internet

You need to give your Virtual Machine its' own unique IP and not the same as your Physical Server. You cannot have two identical IPs the same network. Change the last octec of the VM's IP by even a single digit. eg, if the Physical Serve's IP is 192.168.0.20 change the VM to 192.168.0.21
    1 1 was a racehorse.
    2 2 was 1 2.
    1 1 1 1 race 1 day,
    2 2 1 1 2

Comment

Also, ensure the LAN settings for the VM of Virtual PC 2007 is set to the name of the LAN adapter. You then set the DNS and gateway to the same as the host PC that your 2k3 VM is installed on.

Comment

Thanks guys,

I tried setting up tcp/ip according to your advice and I still can not get out. Pinging the Inet fails, so it could be something simpler than a DNS prob. I installed an XP client into VPC 07 and can not get out with XP either, so it's not member server specific.