Installing Windows Server 2003 error

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Installing Windows Server 2003 error

Hello I hope someone can help me installing windows 2003 server in Virtual PC 2007.I created new virtual machine and inserted the windows 2003 server but i got error message "PXE-E51: no DHCP or proxyDCHP offers were received".I checked my BIOS and its 1st boot CD-ROM.Im just a beginner when it comes to this.Thank you very much.

Re: Installing Windows Server 2003 error

it's trying to boot off the network interface rather than the cdrom.
    go into the bios of the virtual machine and turn off the option allowing it to boot from the network, so it only uses media.

then you should get a prompt saying no bootable device, insert media and p[rss f1 to try again

or something similar to that
    Please do show your appreciation to those who assist you by leaving Rep Point https://www.petri.com/forums/core/im.../icon_beer.gif

Comment

Originally posted by tehcamel View Post
      it's trying to boot off the network interface rather than the cdrom.
      go into the bios of the virtual machine and turn off the option allowing it to boot from the network, so it only uses media.

then you should get a prompt saying no bootable device, insert media and p[rss f1 to try again

or something similar to that

Hello thank you so much for replying to post.I did what you said In my BIOS theres 4 boot device 1st boo(CD-ROM) 2nd boot(Harddisk) 3rd boot(Floppy) 4th boot(PXE UNDI Bus 0 Slot) so i disabled the floppy and PXE UNDI Bus 0 Slot and it did what you said when i run my virtual machine it gave me message "Reboot and Select Proper Boot Device or Insert Boot Media in Selected Boot Device" the installer was already inserted and when i tried to restart the virtual machine it will goes to same message over and over again still not allowing me to install windows server 2003.I hope you can reply again to my post.Thank you very much in advance.

Comment