Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Genuine Advantage check fails in Virtual PC on Gateway PC

Evening everyone -
    I am in the same situation after installing XP on a Gateway computer.

Quick background update: I oversee about 50 computers, Gateways with XP Pro licenses on the side of the boxes. Gateway provides a XP Pro full reinstall disk (not a recovery). I also have X number of volume licenses for our none new boxes. I have basically replaced our W98 boxes with news but we still have some old legacy programs on the server that requires old software.

The problem:
    Gateway Machine - Dual Core - 2GB Ram - 160GB HHD
    1 - I install MS Virtual PC 2007, following a number of tutorials since I am new to virtualizaiton.
    2 - Placed my Gateway XP Pro Cd in the drive
    3 - Installed the OS
    4 - Can't recall if I rebooted the VPC
    5 - The balloon product key icon appeared in the systray prompting to validate my install.
    6 - Enter a product key (this is where I have stopped)

Normally when I have to reinstall a Gateway machine, I don't have to input the product key.

Side note on installation: I read in a few tutorials about "reset" before installation. I did not do that step, found out after my first 2 attempts.

Q1 - Since this is on a legitimate Gateway machine, why is it failing?

Q2 - If I enter the license key on the side of the machine, will I screw up my machine's license in the future?

Q3 - Is there a way I can create just an image of the machines XP install to use. (I use Ghost to create partitions/harddrive images but that will be too big for the virtual hard - I just want a basic XP iso that I can install from the server)?

Thanks in advance for any help since most tutorials do not cover the license situation.

Re: Genuine Advantage check fails in Virtual PC