Genuine Advantage check fails in Virtual PC

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Genuine Advantage check fails in Virtual PC

I downloaded and installed Microsoft Virtual PC 2007 (aka Virtual PC 6?) and bought a new copy of Windows XP Pro to set up a clean environment on my machine. I am a technical writer and need to install some apps in this environment without messing up my host machine.

The XP install went fine, but the Windows Genuine Advantage check fails. It shows the Product Code from my host PC and displays the Product Key I entered for the XP install, says they don't match, and then fails.

I assume this isn't normal. How does Virtual PC usually handle the genuine advantage check?

The only clue that I have is that the host PC is supplied by one of my clients and that that PCs XP license is a corporate license and could be from who-knows-what region. The genuine advantage utility looks like it checks the region of the product as part of the product key validation. (I could be totally wrong with this, but it seems like this might be an issue).

Any advice?

Oops - One more thing. I tried to go as cheap as I could with the XP license... I want to be legit, but I didn't want to pay full price. So I bought a copy of Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2C 32-bit for System Builders - 1 pack from an Amazon reseller. Seems like it's technically legit, since I'm "building" a virtual system. It's honestly as legit as I can afford to be.

Re: Genuine Advantage check fails in Virtual PC

Three thoughts:

1) It's legitimate to buy an OEM copy of Windows if you buy it with a computer system, or a non-peripheral component of a computer system that the copy will be installed on. Since you are installing it into a VM, you would probably get away with that piece of hardware being installed in the host system instead. Did you buy it with qualifying hardware?