VM Newbie...

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• VM Newbie...

I am an admitted newbie to virtualization. I have the following scenarios for two different clients:

1. SBS2003. We have 3 client machines (all very hefty). There are basically 2 employees and 5 contractors that are part time for a legal firm. What we essentially want to do is create VM for the 5 contractors since they will only remote on maybe 3-4 times a week since they each only work about 10 hours or so. So my question is:

A. Is this an applicaiton for VM PC 2007 on the one desktop or since there might be simultaneous access would we be looking at VM Server 2005? If we go with either product I am assuming we will need to have 5 licenses of the OS and obviously a separate license for each application loaded on the VM.

2. 64 bit 2003 with option to upgrade to 2008 with 8 client machines with only 6 machines physically in use. We want to create VM with the other 2 machines so 4 outside workers can login to work.

A. same questions as above.

Thanks in advance for a reply. We have another client that already has this setup so I know it works, but we have not been able to look into it yet.

Re: VM Newbie...

I would recommend Virtual Server rather than Virtual PC. I would also recommend setting this up on a member server, rather than the DC, for performance reasons.

Yes, you will need individual licences for each VM, for both the operating system and applications, in addition to the licence for the host OS.

How do you intend to setup remote access - VPN presumably, with the users then accessing the VMs using Remote Desktop?
    Gareth Howells

BSc (Hons), MBCS, MCP, MCDST, ICCE

Any advice is given in good faith and without warranty.

Please give reputation points if somebody has helped you.

"For by now I could have stretched out my hand and struck you and your people with a plague that would have wiped you off the Earth." (Exodus 9:15) - I could kill you with my thumb.