Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is it possible to simulate entire server in laptop?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is it possible to simulate entire server in laptop?

I have a SBS 2003 SP1 server. I would love to be able to capture an image of that server, software and hardware, run it on my laptop and use that as a test image to apply updates, etc.

It is possible to not only virtualize the software, but the hardware as well? When I load the VHD on my Vista SP1 laptop, with Virtual Server 2005 R2 SP1, can I keep the hardware/driver simulation the same?

I have tried this with other products and when the server boots, it loads all new drivers and deactivates.

Thanks!

Re: Is it possible to simulate entire server in laptop?

I run SBS2003 in vmware server on a Dell laptop with no problem. I'm no virtualization expert but I think that you can't "virtualize" the actual physical hardware and drivers of the server as vmware and virtual server use their own hardware emulation. As for getting the "image" of the server you can use the vmware converter to convert the physical machine to a virtual machine for use with vmware. I don't know if MS has a complimentary utility for virtual server.

Comment

Also beware of breaching the licence - does it permit you to run it on 2 machines? Even if one is virtual, you still got to play by the rules, and it may not activate, which is a timely reminder that different hardware = different licence, usually.
      Best wishes,
      PaulH.
      MCP:Server 2003; MCITP:Server 2008; MCTS: SBS2008

Comment

You got it the other way around here.