Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• network infrastructure for hyper-v redondancy

Hi forum, i am new here .

I need some help with my network infrastructure as i am new to hyper-v.

What do I have:
    2 host servers ( sp1, sp2) with 4 nics on each
    1 switch
    1 router.
    6 virtual machine with 2 dmz
    my entire network is on the same sub .2.X
    i must setup 2 dmz with 10.X and 172.X

What i would like to do:
    i need to setup my 2 hosts in order that if one fails all virtual machine should keep running automatically.

I have installed hyper-core server 2012 on each of the host

i need help to how to configure the nics card and the virtual swicth in order to achieve a redondancy in case of failover.

so step by step : how should i configure the 2 physical host at first?
    then how should i configure the NICS on the server and the virtual switch?
    how should i configure the dmz?
    how i can test if i switch off my host1 the vm should work on host2 and vice-versa

I would really appreciate your help for a best practive network setup.
    Thanks

Re: network infrastructure for hyper-v redondancy

If you want "true" high availability, you will need to think about clustered host servers, so SANs, multiple networks etc, and $$$$

However, there are a couple of cheaper options:
    HyperV replicas, where each host has synchronised copies of the VMs, and if one host fails, you can fire up the replica

VM Clusters, on unclustered hosts, using the virtual SAN facility in HyperV

Regarding the hosts, dedicate one NiC to management and the other 3 (teamed or not) to the VMs
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment