Hyper V and HRL files

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hyper V and HRL files

I have been running 2012R2 Hyper-v for several months. I have been using the Replica functionality from day 1. I have 18 VMs running on 3 different servers, 4 VMs on one, 5 VMs on another and 9 VMs on another. All host servers and VMs are running 2012R2. I have NIC teams on each server. Each server has 64Gb of RAM. This is a small shop, so I am the only IT person here. I use Symantec BUE 2014 with the Hyper-v option, Shavlik Patch Management and Protect and Condusive V-locity. Everything has been running fine. Replications are fast and take just seconds.

I decided to use Extended Replication over a WAN for a Disaster Recovery solution. I have a 10Mb pipe to a local server farm. All of the servers replicate fine. Butů

A couple of times a day, each VM replicates a large HRL file, anywhere from 1.2Gb to 2.3Gb in size. When the replication was local, this was not a problem and pretty much unnoticed by me. When the Extended Replica tries to replicate this large HRL file over the WAN, as you can imagine, everything goes to a crawl.

I have looked through Task Scheduler, Event logs, files, etc. trying to find what is causing this large file to develop. I have excluded files from virus scanning, removed patch scanning, removed disk defrag, basically about everything I can think of. Can anyone think of what to do next? Any place to look? Anything? Any ideas are welcome.

Re: Hyper V and HRL files

I haven't worked much with Hyper-V replica and from what I gather, it is working by Design and nothing has changed. It's just that locally you don't have the same bandwidth restrictions. Have you considered throttling the traffic and then reviewing if this still meets your requirements?

http://www.thomasmaurer.ch/2013/12/t...plica-traffic/