Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

SQL Server 2014 SA (Software Assurance) necessary with Hyper-V Replica?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SQL Server 2014 SA (Software Assurance) necessary with Hyper-V Replica?

Hi, I'm new to Windows servers, SQL Server, Hyper-V Replica. What I want to do, for one of my customers, is the following.

Buy a Windows Server 2012 R2 Essentials Licence. The R2 license is suppose to let me do this : Install Hyper-V on the physical machine. And run Windows Server 2012 R2 Essentials as a Virtual Machine. I want to install Hyper-V Free on a second machine to serve as a Replica server. Every 5 minutes the main VM will be replicated using Hyper-V Replica.

In the document "SQL Server 2014 Licensing Datasheet " (goo.gl/c1JnXY), Microsoft says : "Beginning with SQL Server 2014, each active server licensed with SA coverage allows the installation of a single passive server used for fail-over support." My question is : does this apply to Hyper-V Replica? I mean the Replica and the main VM will never run at the same time. The replica will only be started when there will be a problem with the main VM.

So do I need Software Assurance for SQL Server 2014 if I want to use Hyper-V Replica as a disaster recovery option?

Re: SQL Server 2014 SA (Software Assurance) necessary with Hyper-V Replica?

The logical side of me would argue that you are only using one copy, so why 2 licenses, but unfortunately "logic" and "Microsoft licensing" are two things rarely found in close proximity

Basically, the only authoritative answers you will get are direct from Microsoft, in writing, and you choose the best (for you) of the 4 different answers you get from three different people
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland