Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hyper-V

I am new to Hyper-V

I am testing out IIS server in hyper-V as i cant install MySQL essentials in my Physical workstation. i usually do it wit VMware workstation i
    I have only one nic in my system and i have set the virtual network to External still cant get network access also same with internal setting

Re: Hyper-V

Moving to HyperV forum for better response

Do you have DHCP on your LAN, and if so, does the guest pick up an IP address when networking (on the host) is set to External?

Internal is host + guests so won't work, neither will Private (guest to guest only)
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

I didnt setup a dhcp server on my w2k8 workstation im jus using dhcp from isp to use it im jus installed using def setting of Hyper-V and using it

Comment

AlphaZeirus, can you describe your network? It sounds like your host box is getting a public IP. If that's the case then there's no IP address for your vm to obtain.
        Regards,
        Jeremy

Network Consultant/Engineer
        Baltimore - Washington area and beyond
        www.gma-cpa.com

Comment

Originally posted by JeremyW View Post
          AlphaZeirus, can you describe your network? It sounds like your host box is getting a public IP. If that's the case then there's no IP address for your vm to obtain.
          Yes Jeremy, i am using home connection and i have only one nic so there i can avail internet connection to my guest os ? or should i switch to Microsoft virtual pc or vmware server
          also is there a way to share files between hots and guest in hyper-v ?

Comment

Originally posted by AlphaZeirus View Post