No announcement yet.

Installing BES on a VM

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Installing BES on a VM

Basically i have a Server 2003 R2 Standard running TS and BES installed onto standard pc hardware (quad core, 4gb ram, blah blah blah).
    It has no resiliency so was wondering if imaging it and if possible converting and importing it into a new hyper-v instance was acheivable.

I'm fairly new to virtualisation so please be kind if this really is a dumb question to the experts.

Re: Is this possible

it's definitely possible to convert it onto a virtualised platform, however, I don't think this will meet your stated aims, with current infrastructure.

virtualisation in and of itself, is not resiliant. You need to look into the HA parts of it - where you have two servers, so if one dies you can move the guests seamlessly and things like that.

Based on what you've told us, I don't see a case for virtualisation for you at all at the moment.

Now, if you told me you wanted to run multiple instances on that hardware (say, 2 guests) then yes, potentially there's a case for it. However, it stillwouldn't be any more resiliant or reliant than a single host..
    Please do show your appreciation to those who assist you by leaving Rep Point

Re: Is this possible

Please can you try to give your threads more meaningful titles so that people know something about the question being asked
      Gareth Howells

BSc (Hons), MBCS, MCP, MCDST, ICCE

Any advice is given in good faith and without warranty.

Please give reputation points if somebody has helped you.

"For by now I could have stretched out my hand and struck you and your people with a plague that would have wiped you off the Earth." (Exodus 9:15) - I could kill you with my thumb.

"Everything that lives and moves will be food for you." (Genesis 9:3) - For every animal you don't eat, I'm going to eat three.

Re: Installing BES on a VM [Was: Is this possible]

Thanks for the replies.....and the title change.