BOOTMGR is missing

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• BOOTMGR is missing

Hello Forum - newbie here and with Hyper Visor.

I've done a quick search on this forum for BOOTMGR is missing and come up empty, so have begun a new thread. Thanks for all the knowledge and educational material here. It has aided in getting this ole IBM midrange programmer acclimated to the world of windows servers.

I've recently started down the virtual path and have a HP DL380 G4 running Windows Std Server 2003 R2 service pack 2.

The HP is running RAID 5 with a partition for OS on C (25 GB) and data on E (280 GB) using HP Logical Volume SCSI Disk Device. When using the sysinternal disk2vhd, I generate to my new DELL R710 Windows 2008 R2 running Hyper Visor one .vhd, I selected both C and E from the tools form. I create a new VM based on the .vhd and upon starting and then attempting to boot the new VM I receive the "BOOTMGR is missing message". I've been searching all over to figure out how to accomplish this migration from my HP physical server to my new DELL running Hyper Visor and believe I have issues due to the HP's logical drive.

I think I have to some how mount the .vhd I exported to my new DELL via Windows 2008 server utility and somehow perform a FixBoot.

Can anyone provide assistance?

David

Re: BOOTMGR is missing

Try to create a VHD file only from C partition, mount it to a new VM and try to boot from it. Sounds like your partition is not bootable.

Sorin Solomon

In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure.
    -

Comment

Thanks, I too thought perhaps picking the volumes one-by-one would do it, but no luck the .vhd output file for my C-drive was also showing "raw" and BOOTMGR is missing resulted when attempting to boot the VM.