Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• .vhd wont boot in Hyperv or Virtual PC

Hey guys.
    I have created a vhd of a windows 7 machine just for messing around with as it is my first time using hyper v. it was created with sysinternals disk2vhd application.

when i set up virtual pc on win 7 and try to boot up the vhd it just gives me a blank black cmd prompt screen....

when i try it in hyper v i get the same screen. virtual pc sees the vhd mounted as ide device but yet it wont boot from it.

hyper v doesnt see it in the boot screen like virtual pc but it is mounted in the settings. any ideas on what may be the problmem. i tried searching but couldnt find an answer. The VHD is on a dell equalogic iSCSI storage area if that makes any difference also.

i attached images of everything i specified.
    Attached Files

Re: .vhd wont boot in Hyperv or Virtual PC

I don't get it...
    Disk2VHD is a P2V (Physical-to-Virtual tool). You took an existing Windows7 installation and virtualized it?
    If so, what was the size of the original disk? What disk controller was it sitting on?
    What is the size of the VHD file?

Sorin Solomon

»»»»»
    In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure.
    -
    «««««

Comment

Originally posted by sorinso View Post
      I don't get it...
      Disk2VHD is a P2V (Physical-to-Virtual tool). You took an existing Windows7 installation and virtualized it?
      If so, what was the size of the original disk? What disk controller was it sitting on?
      What is the size of the VHD file?
      yes. i took a existing machine and created a vhd of it using disk2vhd.
      the original disk was 80gb. it is on an sata drive

Comment

i am actually getting a problem when i create a new vm also.
        i created a vm and set it up to boot from is of server 2003 and all i get is a blank black screen with a flicking cursor screen aswell.

help meee!!! please! Thanks

Comment