Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hyper-V Network Issue

Hello everyone,

This is my first time implementing a Hyper V environment. I am running AD Domain Services and DHCP on the host (parent) machine, i set up the Hyper-V role. I can get into the child partition but when i do the network binding im failing miserably.

So our host has 2 NIC's.

Nic1 is the Internet coming and is configured with static ips.
    Nic2 i used the virtual switch only checked off so that the child parition can connect.

Child parition has one area connection that i conifgured with static ips again. but the child can not see anything or ping the parent, nor join the domain.

Nic1
    ip 192.168.2.5
    subnet 255.255.255.0
    gateway 192.168.2.1
    dns1 127.0.0.1

Nic2 (on childs side)
    ip 192.168.2.10
    subnet 255.255.255.0
    gateway
    dns1 192.168.2.5

Child is get a 169 ip address, anyone got any suggesitons why it is not working?

By the way all firewall settings are of.

Re: Hyper-V Network Issue

Hi,

I'm getting much the same (http://forums.petri.com/showthread.php?t=40354) ... I think it's a 2008 issue rather than Hyper V.

Kyu
    J C Rocks (An Aspiring Author's Journey)
    The Abyssal Void War: Stars, Hide Your Fires

Comment

When you install Hyper-V you should end up with a third NIC, which is virtual.

I have two NICs, though I only use one. Installing Hyper-V gave me a third.

I then have several VMs, all are DHCP and all have internet access. 1

If you look at the attachment:

Hyper-V (Bottom) is the one with the "Virtual Switch Network Protocol" ticked. It has no IP address.

Hyper-V Virtual has everything EXCEPT "Virtual Switch Network Protocol" ticked. It has 192.168.1.21

Main (Top) has everything EXCEPT "Virtual Switch Network Protocol" ticked. It has 192.168.1.20.

Only "Main (Top)" has a physical network cable attached; my other NIC (on the bottom) is uplugged.

Jim
      Attached Files